Banana Cake

Cold days like today get me baking for two reasons; to warm the kitchen up for a few precious hours, and to make some invariably warm, chocolatey comfort food. Today I holed myself up in there with my laptop, my new camera and some seriously ripe bananas.

When a banana is cut from its tree an enzyme called polyphenoloxidase, in the presence of oxygen, activates in-built defence mechanisms called phenols. Their purpose is to fend off insects and microbes and the brown colour is produced as a side effect to this process.

When ripe bananas are on offer for cheap, or even better for free I am unable to turn them down which leads to a range of brown to black fruit accumulating on top of the fridge repelling insects and humans alike. Every now and then they are scrambled into action in the form of a smoothie, milkshake, or banana bread/cake.

Today I used Nigel Slater’s recipe for ‘Black Banana Cake’;

Ingredients

I made some changes to correspond with what I had in my cupboards. Unfortunately, Nigel’s nuts got axed, I used a mix of muscovado and caster sugar and 3 smallish bananas which came to about 290g.

Tools

Knife comes out clean

Banana cake out of the oven.

6 thoughts on “Banana Cake

  1. Looks good and really moist.

    I’ll try your recipe in my spare time as soon as possible 😉

    Thank you for sharing 😀

  2. Hi Alfie. I too am a food enthusiast and I regularly make banana cake similar to the recipe you posted (again minus the nuts!) but on special occasions I add cream cheese frosting on the top.
    IT IS AMAZING. I get demands from people to make this cake because it is just that amazingly yum. I dare you to try it!!

Agree? Shout out why, disagree? Call me out!

