Mulligatawny

Today I decided to kill two birds with one soup; feeding my girlfriend an invigorating meal to help her as she revises for an exam, and practicing a dish that I’m thinking of suggesting to the deli where I work. Over the last few weeks my thoughts have turned to India regularly due to our cricket team currently playing a test match series out there. Perhaps thats why I had the sudden urge to make this dish; or then again it might have been the alluring prospect of hearty sizzling beef mince and warm spiced aromas filling the kitchen as I walked home from work on a freezing Norfolk night.

I followed Jamie Oliver’s recipe ‘Mighty Mulligatawny’  which can be found in ‘Jamie’s Great Britain’.  I’ve listed Jamie’s ingredients with any changes that I made alongside. The Instructions are a simplified version of those in the book.

Ingredients

  • 250g quality minced beef
  • 1 red onion, peeled and finely chopped (I used a white onion)
  • 2 carrots, peeled and finely chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic, peeled and finely sliced
  • 1 red pepper, deseeded and finely chopped
  • a 3cm piece of fresh ginger, peeled and finely chopped (I used double this)
  • 1 heaped tablespoon Patak’s Madras curry paste (I used Patak’s Tikka Masala)
  • 1 Tablespoon tomato puree (I used ketchup)
  • sea salt and ground pepper
  • I heaped tablespoon HP sauce
  • 1.5 litres organic beef stock (I used powdered Marigold Bouillon)
  • 1/2 a butternut squash (roughly 350g) cut into centimeter cubes
  • a couple of sprigs of fresh thyme , leaves picked
  • a couple of pinches of garam masala (I used a good teaspoon because my garam masala is not the freshest)
  • 1 cup basmati rice
  • natural yoghurt to serve
  • (I also used a small bunch of flat leaved parsley)

Instructions

  1. fry the beef in a big glug of olive oil on a high heat until golden brown (around 6 minutes)
  2. add the next 5 ingredients and  sauté on a medium heat for another 10 minutes or until the vegetables are tender. Stir every 2 or 3 minutes
  3. add the puree, curry paste and HP sauce and a good pinch of salt and pepper and cook for another 3 minutes, stirring so that the bottom of the pan doesn’t stick
  4. add the stock and simmer gently for 40 minutes.
  1. take another pan and set it on a medium heat
  2. give the pan a big glug of olive oil and fry the squash with the thyme and garam masala for 10 minutes, stirring so as not to burn the bottom
  3. add a cup of rice, and using the same cup add two cups of water
  4. cook for 10 minutes with the lid on, then take off the heat and leave to steam for another 8 minutes.
  5. mix the rice and squash into the soup and serve with a dollop of yoghurt, lots of fresh coriander and some slices of chilli

Ingredients

Ingredients

Chopped ginger, garlic, onion and chilly

Chopped ginger, garlic, onion and chilli

The squash cooking with thyme and Garam Masala

The squash cooking with thyme and garam masala

Flat leaf parsley and butternut squashFlat leaf parsley and butternut squash

In tupperware ready to be transported to Annabel'sFrom the left; the soup, the rice and squash, a jar of coriander and a jar of yoghurt

I tupperwared it all up and put it in my panier to cycle over to Annabel’s. I highly recommend this soup. It tasted fantastic; a real spicy winter warmer!

Agree? Shout out why, disagree? Call me out!

